

# THE SELECTION COMMITTEE THE PRIVATE SECTOR ORGANISATION OF JAMAICA PRIVATE SECTOR HALL OF FAME

#### General

The Private Sector Hall of Fame has been established by the Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica (PSOJ). It is designed to honour Jamaican businesspersons who have made significant contributions to the development of the private sector and the country. Nominees should have served in Jamaica's private sector for at least 25 years. Awards will normally be made annually and shall be made only to individuals. Only one awardee shall be selected each year. Should the Committee decide, in any particular year, that there is no suitable candidate, no award will be given. No posthumous awards shall be granted excepting when the nominee dies during the year in which he/she is being considered for the award.

#### Criteria for Selection

The following considerations will inform the selection of the awardee:

- a) Innovative and sustained contributions to the development of the private sector.
- b) In-depth knowledge of and commitment to his/her field.
- c) Sound character, unquestioned integrity, high ethical standards in all his/her business deals and practices.
- d) The awardee's company must have shown above average (to be defined) growth in assets, profits and/or foreign earnings.

The Selection Committee shall be the seven (7) Officers of the PSOJ who duly occupy these positions at the time a selection is to be made. The President shall be the Chairman of the

Committee. In addition, effective September 2005, the Committee will include the two most recent awardees, so that the Committee will comprise a total of 9 persons. If either or both awardees are unable to participate in the selection meeting, they will be allowed to submit their vote by email or telephone.

A sitting of five (5) members of the Selection Committee shall constitute a quorum for a meeting. The decision of the Selection Committee should normally be by consensus. In the absence of a quorum, the selection may be made by 'round robin' among all members of the Committee.

Nomination forms for awardees should be circulated to all members of the PSOJ. Forms should be returned to the PSOJ Secretariat at least two (2) months before the date scheduled for the award ceremony.

### Form of Recognition

The awardee shall be honoured at a formal dinner at which (s)he will receive a citation. The citation shall be read on this occasion and should show that the awardee has satisfied the criteria for selection. The Sam Mahfood Conference Room at the offices of the PSOJ shall be used as a repository for the Hall of Fame. A bust photograph of each awardee shall be displayed at the PSOJ as well as a short text outlining the individual's contribution to the private sector.

# THE PRIVATE SECTOR HALL OF FAME NOMINATION FORM

Name of Nominee:	
Present Occupation:	
Company:	
Number of Years of Service In the Private Sector: _	
Reason(s) for Nomination*:	
Name of Nominator:	
Position:	
Association/Company:	
Signature of Nominator:	Date:

## **PSOJ PRIVATE SECTOR HALL OF FAME INDUCTEES**

28	Hon. Michael Lee-Chin, OJ, OONT	2022
27	Mrs. Thalia Lyn, CD, JP	2019
26.	Mr. Joseph Mayer Matalon, CD	2018
25.	Mr. Richard O. Byles	2017
24.	Mr. 'Gary Butch' Hendrickson, CD, JP	2016
23.	Mr. Earl Jarrett, CD, JP	2015
22.	Dr. Glenford 'Glen' Christian, OD, JP	2014
21.	Mr. Antony Hart, CD, JP	2013
20.	Mrs. Lorna Myers	2012
19.	Hon. Lascelles A. Chin, OJ, CD	2011
18.	Mr. Robert Levy, CD	2010
17.	Hon. Christopher Blackwell, OJ	2009
16.	Mr. Charles Johnston, CD	2008
15.	Hon. Dennis Lalor, OJ	2006
14.	Hon. William McConnell, OJ, CD	2005
13.	Dr. Marshall Hall, CD	2004
12.	Mr. Douglas Orane, CD	2003
11.	The Honourable Karl Hendrickson, OJ, CD	2002
10.	Mr. Desmond Blades	2001

9.	The Honourable Maurice Facey, OJ	2000
8.	The Honourable John Issa, OJ	1999
7.	The Honourable Oliver Frederick Clarke, OJ	1998
6.	Dr. The Honourable Raby Danvers Williams, OJ, CD	1997
5.	The Honourable Gordon 'Butch' Stewart, OJ, CD	1996
4.	Mr. Rafael Diaz	1995
3.	The Honourable Mayer Matalon, OJ	1994
2.	The Honourable Paul Geddes, OJ	1993
1.	Dr. The Honourable Carlton Alexander, OJ	1992